Election 2014

Spending Limit

The Cabinet of India revised the limit of election expenditure by a candidate for parliamentary constituencies to ₹7 million (US$110,000) in bigger states and to ₹5.4 million (US$84,000) in smaller states and all union territories except Delhi.This revision of the ceiling on the elections were attributed to the increase in the number of electors and polling stations as well as the increase in the cost inflation index.


Satyendra Singh, a doctor with a disability,showed the lack of preparedness by the Election Commission of India (ECI) towards electors with disabilities through the Right to Information Act. The Chief Electoral Officer in Delhi, Vijay Dev then started a campaign on providing accessibility for the disabled, along with him. Singh conducted sensitisation workshops for election officers and helped in setting up a registration link for voters with disabilities to register to vote and provide their requirements.

Election Dates

The Chief Election Commissioner of India (CEC), V. S. Sampath, announced the polling schedule on 5 March. Voting was scheduled to be held in nine phases from 7 April to 12 May, and the results of the election were announced on 16 May.Simultaneous elections were held for the Vidhan Sabhas of Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha, Telangana and Sikkim.